Rice wins another Southwest Conference championship in football (5-1 conference, 7-4 overall) and finishes No. 8 in the nation (AP poll). The Owls -- led by Coach Neely and Captains King Hill, Matt Gorges and Larry Whitmire -- knock off No. 1-ranked Texas A&M--led by hall of fame coach "Bear" Bryant and All-American halfback and 1957 Heisman trophy winner John David Crow.  After the Owls' grueling 7-6 victory over the Aggies, the Houston Post writes: "Football lightning has a way of striking Rice Stadium when Rice meets Texas A&M, and Saturday the bolt was Blue."

open window