Nanoscientists declare 2010 the Year of the Nano. On October 11-13 the best minds in nanotechnology gather to celebrate the 25th anniversary of nano's "big bang" when Rick Smalley, Robert Curl and 3 other scientists annouce their revolutionary discovery of the buckminsterfullerene or "buckyball." The symposium features 4 of the 5 men whose brainstorming led to nanoscience breakthroughs: Robert Curl, Sir Harold Kroto, James Heath and Sean O' Brien. The symposium celebrates the work of Richard Smalley, who died in 2005.

  • 1
  • 2

Left to right: President David Leebron, Dr. Sean O'Brien, Dr. Robert Curl, Sir Harold Kroto, Mayor Annise Parker
open window