President Rupp establishes the Institute of Biosciences and Bioengineering (IBB) to foster cross-disciplinary research and education programs encompassing biological, chemical and engineering disciplines. The Institute serves as an administrative bridge among faculties of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, Bioengineering, Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and Electrical and Computer Engineering. Rupp names George Schroepfer chairman. In 1989 the Department of Biochemistry becomes the Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology; the Biology Department becomes the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology.


Professor Schroepfer in his lab
open window