Twelve female undergraduates form the 3rd women's literary group, the Owen Wister Literary Society, named for the "father" of Western fiction. Women form other societies after World War II but most merge or disband by the 1970s. The Elizabeth Baldwin and Owen Wister last until the 1980s; alumni chapters are still active in 2012.


Owen Wister Literary Society
open window